Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Have you ever wondered where the love comes from? I am certain moms and dads who have multiple children and those with multiple dogs will understand what I am saying.

Time before class and my new best friend is down to eight days. Every time I have returned to receive that special new dog, I wonder if I will love him or her and whether I will have enough capacity in my heart to love him or her as much as I did the dog I am retiring. I also am worried that perhaps this new friend will not love me as much as my previous dog.

Of course, I needn’t worry. Parents of multiple children love each for himself. As soon as I get my hands on my special boy or girl I melt, and any doubt on my side evaporates. All I need to do at that point is see whether he/she wants to work for me. On the dog’s side, it is a little more complicated. The one I love from the start has had a puppy raiser and then a trainer. Over training he will also realize he is responsible for me. Not only that, but he also realizes this is real. As a result, patience and unconditional love are extremely important. Slowly respect forms and morphs to love. Yes, we have a lot of work to do together to make our friendship strong, but both human and dog have hearts that expand to add just one more being to love. 

